ISNR Award Recipients

The Joel F. Lubar Award is presented to those who have made contributions to the International Society for Neurofeedback and Research and the advancement of neurotherapy.

It has been awarded to:

2014:  Len Ochs
2013 - Sebern Fisher
2012 - David Trudeau
2011 - Judy Crawford
2010 - Martijn Arns
2009 - Kirtley Thornton and Estate Sokhadze
2008 - Robert Coben and Vince Monastra
2007 - Susan Shor-Fehmi and Eugenia Bodenhammer-Davis
And in previous years: Hank Weeks, Tim Tinius, Jay Gunkelman, Brian Thiel, Don Deering, John Nash, Dale Walters, Jonathan Walker, Noland White, Cory Hammond and Mario Beauregard.

The Presidential Award of Merit is awarded to those members who have shown a very high level of commitment to, and work on behalf, of ISNR.

It has been awarded to:

2014:  Sarah Wyckoff
2013 - Eugenia Bodenhamer-Davis
2012 - Leslie Sherlin
2011 - Martijn Arns
2010 - Larry Hirshberg
2009 - Leslie Sherlin
2008 - Hank Weeks
2007 - Merlyn Hurd
And in previous years: Roger deBeus, Joe Horvat*, Ann Marie Horvat, Elsa Baehr, Darlene Nelson, Adam Clarke and Noland White

The M.B. Sterman Career Achievement Award (formally The Lifetime Achievement Award) is awarded to those persons who have "thought outside the box, remaining curious about life's larger questions, while retaining scientific rigor. Through the alchemy of hard work throughout your career, you have generated our current field's golden foundation. We stand on the shoulders of giants, and today we honor you, one of the giants. On behalf of the Board of Directors and the membership of ISNR, I hereby declare you a Lifetime Member of ISNR."

It has been awarded to:

2014:  Tom Collura
2013 - Dirk de Ridder
2012 - D. Corydon Hammond
2011 - Adam Clarke
2010 - Niels Birbaumer
2009 - Robert Thatcher
2008 - Roberto Pasqual-Marqui
2007 - Les Fehmi
And in previous years: David Trudeau, Tom Budzynski*, Joel Lubar, Judith Lubar, Barry Sterman, Margaret Ayers*, Joe Kamiya, Hershel Toomim*, Karl Pribram and Eugenia Bodenhamer-Davis.

ISNR Fellows have (a) met all the requirements for membership, (b) been a member for at least three (3) years, (c) presented to the Board evidence of significant contributions to the Society and its function, and/or exceptional achievement in experimental or clinical neurotherapy, evidence of contributions to the field of neurotherapy, and/or evidence of contributions acceptable to the Board or Fellowship Committee, and (d) been so designated by the Board. 

ISNR Fellows include:

2014:  Randall Lyle
2013 - Richard E. Davis
2012 - Leslie Sherlin
2011 - Tom Collura and Judith Lubar
2010 - Ben Reitsma
2009 - Thomas Brownback, Sarah Prinsloo and Lawrence Hirshberg
2008 - Michael Cohen, Martijn Arns and Wolfgang Keeser
2007 - Robert Coben and Marco Congedo
2005 - David Kaiser, Tamara Lorensen, Michael Thompson and Lynda Thompson
2004 - Roger deBeus
2003 - Elsa Baehr

Previous Years:

 Margaret Ayers*  Tom Budzynski* Dan Chartier
 Jim Evans  Jay Gunkelman  Bob Gurnee
 Cory Hammond  Daniel Hoffman  Joe Horvat*
 Joe Kamiya  Lynda Kirk  Ted La Vaque
 Joel Lubar  Judith Lubar  John Nash
 Ellen Saxby  Barry Sterman  Steve Stockdale
 David Trudeau  Jonathan Walker  Nancy White  

The Joseph and Ann Marie Horvat Distinguished Service Award is established to recognize members who have served the Society faithfully and with exemplary effort. 

Nova Tech EEG, Inc with approval of the ISNR Board endowed an award, to be presented annually, to a person who has made an outstanding service contribution to achieving the mission of the International Society for Neurofeedback and Research (ISNR) through volunteerism.  Across the years many individuals who have represented the organization have instilled in many members and conference attendees a great loyalty to our field and to the organization.  Although there were many, two of the most noticeable individuals were Joe and Ann Marie Horvat.  With the recent passing of Joe who was a friend and colleague we wanted to honor his memory and the significant amount of time he dedicated to the organization through various board and committee positions.  In similar fashion, Ann Marie volunteered a great deal of time for many years with no compensation to support ISNR.  Even now, despite compensation, her value is not measurable in dollars. We wish to recognize these individuals’ contributions over the years by naming the Distinguished Service Award in their name.  Additionally, by recognizing volunteerism and dedication to ISNR we hope to increase the participation by the general membership.

This award recognizes service in the areas of board affairs, society membership, committee work, publications or conference presentations, general volunteerism to the society and leadership that has a major impact on the ISNR society and in support of its mission. Recipients receive an engraved plaque and a $500 donation will be made in their name to the ISNR fund of their choosing (e.g. research, student, general, special, etc).

It has been awarded to:

2014:  Dan Williams
2013 - Merlyn Hurd
2012 - Peder Fagerholm
2011 - Hank Weeks
2010 - John Carmichael (Research Foundation)
2009 - Noland White (Student Fund)
2008 - Ann Marie Horvat (Joe Horvat Memorial Research Fund)


The William J. Hudspeth Award for EEG Innovation and Altruism is established to recognize ISNR members who have served the Society, and its’ members, and has promoted EEG innovation and whom has gone out of their way to help others. 

With approval of the ISNR Board an endowment was received, to be presented annually, to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to innovation in the field of EEG/QEEG assessment, technology or interpretation and whom is giving of their time and knowledge to others in the promotion of knowledge and scientific pursuits. Over the years many individuals have contributed to the field of EEG, QEEG and Neurofeedback. With the recent passing of Dr Bill Hudspeth, we want to honor his contributions as an EEG/QEEG innovator, colleague, mentor and individual that would freely give of himself to help others.

Our wish is to recognize similar individuals with this award for innovation and altruism and thus promote these in others. A $500 gift will be provided to the individual recipient with the idea of supporting research and/or work that furthers innovation and clinical applications of such knowledge.

It has been awarded to:
2014 - TBA


Student Awards can be found HERE.  






* Deceased

International Society for Neurofeedback & Research

Executive Director, PMB 114, 1350 Beverly Road, Suite 115, McLean, VA 22101-3633 - (703) 848-1994 - Fax (703) 738-7341